Admin Update

I first just want to take a moment to acknowledge with thanks, the interest and support in this project from the many women who have had a chance to respond to my request to participate.

For the reader, if there is anyone in particular you’d like to see featured on this site then please send me an email [carrie.stoddart@gmail.com] or leave a comment below and I will see what I can wrangle (although, I cannot guarantee that the request can be fulfilled).

Please note, that requests will need to be either a current MP or an elected candidate for their party or a registered independent.

The reason I have limited it at this stage is firstly, because its election year, and secondly, it would require a lot more time (which I don’t have at the moment) to collate a site that broad.

I also wanted to provide a little run down on the format and structure, so that readers know what to expect and so that any potential participants can use this information to help them decide if they’d like to participate.

Format

I have sent out emails to all women MP’s, and to some candidates who have been formally elected by their party membership to stand in the upcoming election.

I asked if they’d like to participate and outlined the reasons and purpose of this site. I am still waiting on many replies, but I have also received a significant number of positive responses.

I haven’t obtained all the email addresses for some of the newer women to this arena, so that is my task over the next few days.

For those who agreed to participate, I have sent out some questions (in the form of a questionnaire allowing for either short or detailed answers) to help me formulate the article I will write on each on them.

Some of the questions are quite generic, others covering personal political values, some views on women specific issues and a snapshot of some of their non-political aspects.

The participants are not expected to answer all the questions sent [but are most welcome to do so].

Launch Date

I anticipate that the site will officially launch with the first or first few articles by Friday 2 May, 2014. If there is to be a delay for any reason, I will post an update closer to the time.

I’ll clarify here for those who are uncertain that this is not an “official” site for the 2014 NZ election.

 

 

Leave a comment